Image :

On 20 December 2021, the Council of the EU appointed Mr Marcus Navin-Jones as Alternate to the Chairperson of the Board of Appeal of the CPVO for a period of five years starting on 20 February 2022, the date on which he will take up his duties.

Marcus Navin-Jones is a solicitor and solicitor-advocate in Belgium, Ireland, England & Wales. Over the past two decades his primary focus has been on the implementation and interpretation of EU law, including intellectual property law.

Marcus Navin-Jones begun his professional career working at the European Commission (DG MARKT). After a year at PricewaterhouseCoopers, he worked for international law firms in Brussels and became a Partner in 2014.

In 2020 Marcus Navin-Jones moved to the EFTA Surveillance Authority, responsible for the Environmental Portfolio. He is a CEDR Accredited Mediator. He attended Stonyhurst College, Bristol University, the University of Law London, and the Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution.

The Board of Appeal of the CPVO is responsible for deciding on appeals brought against decisions of the CPVO, such as decisions on fees, annulment, cancellation, refusal, objections, etc.

The Board of Appeal of the CPVO is made up of a Chairperson, Mr Paul van der Kooij, and an Alternate as well as qualified members selected by the Administrative Council. The members of the Board of Appeal are independent.

More information on CPVO Board of Appeal can be found here.